Help me reach my goal

21 Jul

So, it’s been a week since I started my fundraising and running again.  Things are progressing … just a little more slowly than I would hope in both the fundraising and running.  I ran again last night with the local running group.  It was another good run and I picked up my pace a little bit.  The only problem was that I had a cramp in my side through most of the run.  I am still trying to figure out whether it was because I didn’t drink enough water yesterday or because I haven’t found my breathing yet.  Hopefully, next Tuesday night’s run will go better.  I still have a little over a week until training officially begins, so at least I will have gotten in a few runs to prepare myself before then.

The fundraising has also started.  It is progressing steadily.  I am hoping to raise at $1000 of my $5000 goal by this weekend, so I still need your help.  Please visit my Fundraising Page to make a donation.  Don’t forget it is tax-deductible and you will be supporting the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society’s mission to cure blood cancers.

I would like to send a huge THANK YOU out to those people who have graciously supported me so far:

Jean Brotherton

Gail Sahara

Brian Peulicke – my big brother!

Catherine Peatross – the daughter of Charles Whitesell, one of the people in whose memory I am running

Tony Newhall

Svend Peulicke – I love you daddy!

Nancy Long – she’s run this Nike Women’s Marathon twice before

Your support for my goals and for the mission of the LLS is truly inspiring and will help me to finish this journey.  I also want to thank those who have indicated that they will be donating.  I will happily accept your donation in any form, but please consider making your donation online at my fundraising page, as it will add to my total and you will receive an emailed receipt for your donation immediately.

This weekend is the kickoff celebration for the Team in Training winter program.  I will be getting my training schedule, meeting my coach and mentor, and also meeting our honored teammate.  I look forward to telling you all about these wonderful people this weekend.  They are going to be providing me the physical support to improve my running while you all offer me the mental support to keep going toward my goals.

I am also working on posts to tell you all about Monsignor McGinn and Charles Whitesell, the two people in whose memory I am fundraising and running this race.  Monsignor McGinn was my parish priest growing up.  He lost his battle with non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma almost 13 years ago.  Charles Whitesell was the attorney who hired me to work at his firm 6 years ago when I moved back to California from Washington, DC.  We lost Charles to leukemia 4 years ago. I will tell you more about these two wonderful men soon.

For a little more information about the Team in Training program and all the wonderful work they have done to help LLS over the past 22 years, watch this video from their 20th Anniversary year in 2008.

Thank you again for all your support!  Please keep coming back to follow my progress and feel free to engage with me in the comments below.  You are all part of my team.

Go TEAM!

Leave a comment