And so I begin

13 Jul

So today I began running and fundraising in earnest.

I sent out email requests and posted links on every social networking site on which I have an account.  I received my first donation – Thank You Jean Brotherton! There will be something special coming your way as the first one to make a donation toward my goal.  I hope there will be more donations soon.  The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society (LLS) is an amazing organization and their mission to find a cure for blood cancers is so important.  In fact, the Team in Training program is one of the best fundraising programs in the country, with approximately 75% of the funds raised going directly to LLS to support their mission.

I appreciate any support you can give me to reach my goal.  Please visit my Fundraising Page to make a tax-deductible donation.

This evening I also started running again.  I found a local running group on Meetup.com.  They do a run every Tuesday evening in Corona Del Mar.  It was a great run along the bluff above the beach and the scenery was absolutely beautiful.  I took it nice and easy, walking for portions of the 3 miles, just to get myself back into the swing of things.  I met some really nice, supportive people.  I think I have found my Tuesday training run for the duration of this journey and beyond.

It felt good to get out there tonight and know that I was running for a great cause.  And it didn’t hurt that we finally were rid of the June Gloom today and had a beautiful, sunny summer beach day.

Now I think I will spend a little time knitting before heading off to bed.

Leave a Reply

