WooHoo!

27 Jul

So Saturday morning was the kickoff party for winter training season with Team in Training.  Woohoo!  It was great to see all the people who are taking on the challenge of a half marathon or sprint triathlon and raising money for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society at the same time.  I met some of the people who will be training with me for the half marathon.  I will meet everyone this coming Saturday when the training really gets started.

At the kickoff party, I got my training shirt (picture to follow soon) and training schedule for the first month of training.  The program really is set up to help non-runners achieve the goal of completing their first endurance event.  I think I may have a little advantage, as far as knowing what to expect from the training and having started running a little bit, so that I will hopefully be able to improve my pace through this process.  According to my schedule, this week I am just supposed to get out for a 20 minute run or walk 3 times before Saturday’s 2-mile group run.  I still plan to run at the beach Tuesday night with the new running group I have found, but I will make sure to get in at least 20 minutes on two other days.

On Saturday I also met my running coach Paul and my mentor Jacqueline.  Paul was leaving after the party to head up to San Francisco to run the SF Marathon on Sunday morning.  Jacqueline, my mentor, has trained with the program before and this year is here to help us with our fundraising, training, and any other issues we may have in the program.  She seems really nice and is very enthusiastic about helping us.  She was already working to come up with a group fundraiser that we could all do together.  I’ll be sure to let you know about that as soon as it is set.

Vicki, the campaign manager for the 1/2 marathon training team in Orange County ran the kickoff party and introduced us to all the wonderful staff members who will be helping us through this process.  We were also reminded that 75% of the money raised through the TNT program goes directly to the mission of the LLS and will directly help those who are suffering in some way.  She also introduced our honored teammates.  Unfortunately, the honored teammate for the OC marathon team was unable to attend the kickoff because he is preparing for a stem cell transplant.  I look forward to meeting him soon and learning more about him so that I can share it with you.  We did get to hear from the honored teammate for the triathlon team.  She is a mother of 3 daughters who was diagnosed 3 years ago with leukemia.  She had a bone marrow transplant and is now in remission.  She will actually be training with the triathlon team, and will compete on the third anniversary of her transplant procedure.  Her story was amazingly inspiring and reminded me that my life is not as bad as it feels sometimes.  One thing she said that has stayed with me and I think will help me through this journey is that she is doing this because she can.

I run because I can and I will run for those who can’t!

I also have to say Woohoo! and thank you to everyone who has donated to support my goal.  Over the weekend I surpassed $1000 in fundraising and am now over a quarter of the way to reaching my goal.  I want to thank the following people who have made donations since my last post:

Hakim Elaby

Ken Nelson

Tom Simmons

Skip Newhall

Elaine Lawson

Roger Newhall

Amy Truong – Pilates Hound

Mark Chung

Peggie Tomas

Bana Hilal

Katie Haven

Bonnie Brown

Cindy Prewitt

Barbara Klein-Robuck

Paul Gadebusch

Jeff Jones

Patrick Scott

John Moreiko

You are all motivating me to reach my goal and you are helping millions of people by supporting the LLS and their mission.  If you haven’t had a chance yet, please visit my fundraising page to make a donation.  You are all part of my team and I truly appreciate your support.

Go TEAM!  WooHoo!

Leave a Reply

