How do you let go?

17 Jan

Faith is taking the first step even when you don’t see the whole staircase. ~Martin Luther King, Jr.

Sometimes you read something exactly when you need to see it.  The above quotation by Martin Luther King, Jr. was floating around the internet today, along with many of his other profound statements, as we all remember his contribution to our country.  Today has been a very difficult day.  I am struggling to let go of something I don’t want to lose.  I am struggling to let go of the dream I had for my life.  And, I am struggling to figure out what is next.  How do you let go when your heart wants to hold on?

I know life is not easy and it is the struggles that make us stronger.  Yet, sometimes I feel like all I do is struggle and I would just like something to be easy for once.  Sometimes I just want a break from it all – a time to relax and refresh so I can face it all again.  I guess the truth is that I need to just follow Dr. King’s advice and have faith.  I know that eventually everything will work out, I just need to have faith and take the first step in that direction.  I need to have faith that letting go is the right thing to do and faith that I can do it.

Two more quotations caught my eye today as being meaningful to my situation as well:

Everything will be okay in the end. If it’s not okay, it’s not the end. ~ Unknown

Don’t cry because it’s over. Smile because it happened. ~Dr. Seuss

It is not the end for me or my dreams, they are simply going to change and grow.  Things are not okay right now, but they will be… eventually.

I have cried a lot over my situation, and I will probably continue to do so because it is very emotional to me.  I love very deeply and that means that I also hurt very deeply.  I am experiencing a huge change and I have to mourn the loss of what I thought would be.  But someday, I hope I will be able to smile at the memory of this part of my life.

How do you let go when you don’t want to do so?  I don’t know the answer, but I will have faith that I will find my way.

Leave a Reply

